Droits humains

Le projet révisé de traité sur les entreprises et les droits humains : améliorations révolutionnaires et perspectives encourageantes

En juillet dernier, le président d’un groupe de travail chargé de négocier un traité international sur les entreprises et les droits humains a diffusé un projet de texte révisé devant être examiné lors du cinquième cycle de négociations, prévu du 14 au 18 octobre à Genève. Ce document présente une série d’innovations, notamment l’extension de la portée du traité au-delà des sociétés transnationales pour inclure toutes les entreprises, ainsi qu’une clarification nécessaire à la manière dont le traité pourrait interagir avec le large éventail d’accords commerciaux et d’investissements existants. Carlos Lopez détaille ces innovations, présentant leur évolution par rapport à l’avant-projet, et explique comment elles pourraient affecter les négociations à venir.

@CarlosLopezGVA
@ICJ_org

Un tribunal du CIRDI accueille l’exception d’illégalité du Panama dans la réalisation d’un investissement dans un projet touristique situé dans une zone autochtone

ÁLVAREZ Y MARÍN CORPORACIÓN S.A., BARTUS VAN NOORDENNE, CORNELIS WILLEM VAN NOORDENNE, ESTUDIOS TRIBUTARIOS AP S.A. ET STICHTING ADMINISTRATIEKANTOOR ANBADI C. LA RÉPUBLIQUE DU PANAMA, AFFAIRE CIRDI N° ARB/15/14

Protéger les droits sociaux par la procédure de l’Amicus curiae dans l’arbitrage d’investissement : de la poudre aux yeux des tierces parties ?

Les arguments présentés par un amicus curiae sont de plus en plus communes dans les arbitrages d’investissement. Bon nombre d’entre eux portent sur des droits sociaux reconnus sur le plan international, tels que le droit à l’eau ou à la nourriture. Cet article examine les conditions restrictives applicables à l’admission d’amici curiae, la référence fréquente aux questions de droits sociaux dans les mémoires d’amici, et les difficultés rencontrées pour présenter ces arguments. L’auteur présente les actions possibles que les amici et les états peuvent entreprendre pour rendre leurs arguments en faveur des droits sociaux plus efficaces dans le contexte du droit des investissements.

Les clauses RSE dans les traités d’investissement

La RSE fait référence aux règles et pratiques que les entreprises suivent volontairement pour limiter les externalités négatives sociales, environnementales, et autres causées par leurs activités. Il existe une tendance à intégrer les normes RSE dans les traités d’investissement. Les clauses RSE pourraient-elles être utiles pour consolider les obligations des investisseurs et servir de base aux demandes reconventionnelles des États ?

Les négociations relatives à un instrument contraignant sur les entreprises et les droits humains se poursuivent aux Nations Unies

La quatrième session du Groupe de travail intergouvernemental à composition non-limitée sur les entreprises transnationales et autres entreprises et les droits de l’homme s’est tenue à Genève du 15 au 19 octobre 2018.

ITN  |  octobre 18, 2018

(English) Bear Creek v. Peru

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Américain.

ITN  |  octobre 18, 2018

(English) Urbaser v. Argentina

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Américain.

Vers une convention internationale sur les entreprises et les droits humains

En juillet 2018, l’ambassadeur de l’Équateur a publié l’avant-projet de l’un des traités internationaux sur les droits humains les plus importants de ces dernières années. Répond-il aux attentes et demandes exprimées par la communauté internationale, et notamment ceux en attente de justice et de réparation ?

Le Groupe de travail des Nations Unies sur les entreprises et les droits de l’homme tient sa 4ème session du 15 au 19 octobre 2018

La quatrième session du Groupe de travail intergouvernemental sur les entreprises transnationales et autres entreprises et les droits de l’homme aura lieu du 15 au 19 octobre 2018 dans la salle XX du Palais de Nations, à Genève.

Le parcours d’un Traité contraignant sur les droits humains : déjà trois ans… où va-t-il mener ?

Les personnes affectées par les abus des droits humains découlant d’activités commerciales doivent avoir accès à des recours significatifs et efficaces. Un groupe de travail intergouvernemental des Nations Unies cherche à combler les écarts entre les parties-prenantes et à négocier un instrument contraignant sur les sociétés transnationales et autres entreprises en matière de droits humains.

Les investissements fonciers à grande échelle dans les Pays les moins avancés : les conflits juridiques entre protection de l’investissement, et protection des droits humains

Cet ouvrage analyse, des points de vue juridique et économique, les investissements fonciers à grande échelle réalisés dans les Pays les moins avancés d’Afrique à des fins agricoles.

Le droit international de l’investissement et les politiques en matière d’investissement en Afrique : étude d’une approche de la réglementation des investissements et du règlement des différends fondée sur les droits humains

Cet ouvrage propose une analyse approfondie du régime du droit international de l’investissement et des pratiques actuelles en matière de traités en Afrique, des points de vue mondial, régional et national.

L’arbitrage investisseur-État et les droits humains

Cet ouvrage examine les relations entre les droits humains et le droit international de l’investissement, et cherche à savoir si et comment les arguments fondés sur les droits humains peuvent être présentés dans le cadre de procédures arbitrales au titre des traités d’investissement.

Les investisseurs étrangers peuvent-ils être tenus responsables des violations des droits humains ? Droit international des droits humains et au-delà

Les États hôtes se sont retrouvés face au défi de protéger leurs citoyens des violations des droits humains causés par les multinationales. Cet article explique les bases des obligations des États en vertu du droit international des droits humains et comment engager la responsabilité des investisseurs étrangers.

Faut-il reformuler les règles et les exceptions ? De la relation entre la souveraineté réglementaire et le droit international des investissements

States’ regulatory powers are the rule, and investors’ rights under international investment law are the exception. Or is it the other way around? Book review of Public Purpose in International Law.

Le droit des investissements dans le droit international : perspective d’intégration

Cet ouvrage se penche sur les liens entre le droit des investissements et les autres sous-domaines du droit international, notamment le droit des conflits armés, des droits humains, du développement durable, du commerce, du développement et le droit européen.

Lancement des négociations d’un traité contraignant relatif aux entreprises et aux droits humains

(English) The inaugural session of the Open-ended Intergovernmental Working Group for the Elaboration of an International Legally Binding Instrument on Transnational Corporations and Other Business Enterprises (TNCOBEs) with respect to Human Rights (the Working Group) marks the beginning of a process to negotiate a binding treaty on business and human rights.

Un instrument contraignant sur les droits de l’homme et les entreprises : le groupe de travail tient sa première réunion

Le groupe de travail* des Nations Unies s’est réuni pour la première fois du 6 au 10 juillet 2015 à Genève, en Suisse, en vue d’aborder la question d’un instrument juridique sur les droits de l’homme et les entreprises transnationales.

Human rights

The Revised Draft of a Treaty on Business and Human Rights: Ground-breaking improvements and brighter prospects

This past July, the chairperson of a working group tasked with negotiating an international treaty on business and human rights circulated an updated draft text for consideration in the fifth round of negotiations, to be held October 14–18, 2019 in Geneva. This document features a series of innovations, including extending the scope of the treaty beyond transnational organizations to include all business enterprises, along with bringing much needed clarity on how this treaty might interact with the wide range of trade and investment agreements already in place. Carlos Lopez describes these innovations in detail, showing their changes relative to the “zero draft” and outlining how they may affect upcoming negotiations.

@CarlosLopezGVA
@ICJ_org

ICSID tribunal upholds Panama’s plea of illegality in the making of an investment in a tourism project located in an Indigenous area

ÁLVAREZ Y MARÍN CORPORACIÓN S.A., BARTUS VAN NOORDENNE, CORNELIS WILLEM VAN NOORDENNE, ESTUDIOS TRIBUTARIOS AP S.A. AND STICHTING ADMINISTRATIEKANTOOR ANBADI V. REPUBLIC OF PANAMA, ICSID CASE NO. ARB/15/14

Protecting Social Rights Using the Amicus Curiae Procedure in Investment Arbitration: A smokescreen against third parties?

Arguments submitted by an amicus curiae (a “friend of the court”) have become increasingly common in investment arbitration. Many of these arguments deal with internationally recognized social rights, such as the right to water or food. This piece considers the restrictive conditions on amici curiae admission, the frequent reference to social rights issues in amici briefs, and the challenges in presenting these social rights arguments. The author advances possible actions that amici and states can take to make their social rights arguments more effective in an investment law context.

Corporate Social Responsibility Clauses in Investment Treaties

CSR refers to rules and practices companies follow voluntarily to limit the negative social, environmental and other externalities caused by their activities. There is a trend to incorporate CSR standards in investment treaties. Could CSR clauses be useful in consolidating enforceable investor obligations and serving as a basis for state counterclaims?

News  |  December 21, 2018

Negotiations of a legally binding instrument on business and human rights continue at the United Nations

During the week of October 15–19, 2018, the fourth session of the Open-Ended Intergovernmental Working Group on Transnational Corporations and Other Business Enterprises with Respect to Human Rights took place in Geneva.

ITN  |  October 18, 2018

Bear Creek v. Peru

Bear Creek Mining Corporation v. Republic of Peru, ICSID Case No. ARB/14/2 (Published in 2018 in International Investment Law and Sustainable Development: Key cases from the 2010s and on this website on October 15, 2018. Read more here.) Decisions and award are available at https://www.italaw.com/cases/2848 Keywords Silver mining, general exception clause, social licence to operate, human rights […]

ITN  |  October 18, 2018

Urbaser v. Argentina

Urbaser S.A. and Consorcio de Aguas Bilbao Bizkaia, Bilbao Biskaia Ur Partzuergoa v. The Argentine Republic, ICSID Case No. ARB/07/26 (Published in 2018 in International Investment Law and Sustainable Development: Key cases from the 2010s and on this website on October 18, 2018. Read more here.) Decisions and award are available at http://www.italaw.com/cases/1144 Keywords Human rights, […]

Toward an International Convention on Business and Human Rights

In July 2018, Ecuador’s Ambassador released the zero draft of one of the most important international human rights treaties in recent years. How does this draft measure up to the high expectations and needs expressed by the international community and especially those in need of justice and reparation?

News  |  October 17, 2018

UN Working Group on Business and Human Rights hosts 4th session October 15-19, 2018

The fourth session of the Intergovernmental Working Group on Transnational Corporations and Other Business Enterprises with Respect to Human Rights will take place October 15–19, 2018 in Room XX of the Palais des Nations in Geneva.

The Journey of a Binding Treaty on Human Rights: Three Years Out and Where Is It Heading?

Meaningful and effective remedies need to be provided to those injured by business-related human rights abuses. An intergovernmental working group at the United Nations is working to bridge gaps among stakeholders and negotiate a binding instrument on transnational corporations and other businesses with respect to human rights.

Large-Scale Land Investments in Least Developed Countries: Legal conflicts between investment and human rights protection

This book analyzes large-scale land investments for agricultural purposes in Africa’s least-developed countries from a law and economics perspective.

International Investment Law and Policy in Africa: Exploring a human rights based approach to investment regulation and dispute settlement

This book provides a comprehensive analysis of the international investment law regime and current treaty practices in Africa from global, regional and domestic perspectives.

Investor–State Arbitration and Human Rights

This book examines the interrelations between human rights and international investment law and discusses whether and how human rights arguments may be presented in the course of arbitral proceedings based on investment treaties.

Can Foreign Investors Be Held Liable for Human Rights Violations? International Human Rights Law and Beyond

Host states have had the challenge to protect their citizens from human rights violations caused by multinationals. This paper explains the bases of states’ obligations under international human rights law and how foreign investors may be held responsible.

Recasting Rules and Exceptions? On the Relationship Between Regulatory Sovereignty and International Investment Law

States’ regulatory powers are the rule, and investors’ rights under international investment law are the exception. Or is it the other way around? Book review of Public Purpose in International Law.

Investment Law within International Law: Integrationist Perspectives

The book examines the links between investment law and other sub-fields of international law, including the law on armed conflict, human rights, sustainable development, trade, development and EU law.

Negotiations Kick Off on a Binding Treaty on Business and Human Rights

The inaugural session of the Open-ended Intergovernmental Working Group for the Elaboration of an International Legally Binding Instrument on Transnational Corporations and Other Business Enterprises (TNCOBEs) with respect to Human Rights (the Working Group) marks the beginning of a process to negotiate a binding treaty on business and human rights.

News  |  August 4, 2015

Binding instrument on business and human rights: Working Group holds its first session

From July 6 to 10, 2015, a UN working group convened its first meeting in Geneva, Switzerland, to discuss a legal instrument on human rights and transnational corporations.