ICS

Vers un code de conduite pour les arbitres des affaires d’investissement : des normes éthiques peuvent-elles sauver le RDIE ?

L’idée de confier à des arbitres nommés par les parties le pouvoir de juger des différends investisseur-État par le biais de sentences définitives et contraignantes, héritée de l’arbitrage commercial et traditionnellement considérée comme appropriée, entraine à présent un certain malaise chez les critiques.

La CJUE détermine que le SJI contenu dans l’AECG Canada-UE est conforme au droit européen

Dans son avis final rendu le 30 avril 2019, la CJUE a déterminé que le SJI contenu dans l’AECG Canada-UE était conforme au droit européen.

Le Comité économique et social européen recommande d’améliorer et de clarifier les discussions relatives au TMI

Le Comité économique et social européen (CESE) a donné son avis sur la recommandation de la Commission européenne au Conseil européen de lancer les négociations portant sur la proposition de cour multilatérale d’investissement, appuyant les discussions relatives à la réforme du RDIE, tout en faisant état des domaines d’amélioration.

L’avocat général de la CJUE conclut que le SJI est conforme au droit européen, en attente de l’avis définitif de la Cour

Le 29 janvier 2019, l’avocat général de la CJUE, Yves Bot, a émis un avis non contraignant, estimant que le système juridictionnel des investissements (SJI) inclut dans l’AECG Canada-UE était compatible avec le droit européen.

L’Union européenne signe des accords commerciaux et d’investissement avec Singapour ; l’APE UE-Japon entrera en vigueur en février 2019

Le 19 octobre 2018, Singapour et l’Union européenne ont signé des accords politiques et commerciaux, ainsi que l’Accord de protection des investissements (API) UE-Singapour.

Le point sur les négociations commerciales et d’investissement de l’Union européenne avec le Japon, le Vietnam, l’Australie, la Nouvelle Zélande et le Mexique

Le 17 juillet 2018, le président de la Commission européenne, Jean-Claude Juncker et le Premier ministre du Japon, Shinzo Abe, ont signé l’Accord de partenariat économique Japon-Union européenne (APE).

Le Conseil de l’Europe adopte des directives en matière de négociations : la Commission européenne est chargée de négocier une convention instituant un tribunal multilatéral des investissements

Le 20 mars 2018, le Conseil de l’Union européenne a adopté des directives de négociation autorisant la Commission européenne à négocier une convention instituant un tribunal multilatéral chargé du règlement des différends en matière d’investissements.

Les négociations de l’APE UE-Japon sont terminées sans investissement ; l’ALE UE-Mexique révisé bientôt parachevé

Le 8 décembre 2017, le Président de la Commission européenne, Jean-Claude Juncker, et le Premier ministre japonais, Shinzo Abe, ont annoncé la finalisation des négociations portant sur l’Accord de partenariat économique (APE) entre l’Union européenne et le Japon.

L’UE poursuit ses efforts en vue d’établir un tribunal multilatéral des investissements, malgré d’acerbes critiques

En plus de maintenir sa proposition pour un Système de tribunal de l’investissement (STI) dans le cadre de ses négociations bilatérales, l’Union européenne poursuit ses efforts en vue d’établir un tribunal multilatéral des investissements (TMI).

ALENA 2.0 : les cycles de négociation entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique se poursuivront lors du premier trimestre 2018

Les trois parties à l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) ont tenu leurs troisième, quatrième et cinquième cycles de renégociation (Ottawa, 23-27 septembre 23–27 ; Arlington, 11-17 octobre 11–17 ; et Mexico, 17-21 novembre). Le prochain cycle de renégociation de l’ALENA se tiendra du 23 au 28 janvier 2018 à Montréal.

La Belgique demande à la CJUE un avis au sujet de la compatibilité du STI contenu dans l’AECG avec le droit européen

Le 6 septembre 2017, la Belgique a introduit auprès de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (CJUE) une demande d’avis sur la compatibilité du STI avec les traités européens.

L’accord de libre-échange entre l’Union européenne (UE) et le Canada (CETA) va être appliqué provisoirement à partir du 21 septembre 2017

Après la ratification le 17 mai 2017 par le Canada de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG), le Canada et la Commission européenne ont fixé de commun accord la date de début de l’application provisoire de l’accord au 21 septembre 2017.

Le pouvoir de conclure des ALE européens de nouvelle génération : l’avis 2/15 de l’avocat général Sharpston

Can the European Union act alone in concluding agreements such as CETA and the EU–Singapore FTA? Or must EU member states also ratify them? ECJ Advocate General Sharpston discusses the allocation of powers in the field of investment under EU law.

L’AECG est approuvé par le Parlement de l’UE ; son application provisoire dépend de sa ratification par le Canada

Le 15 février 2017, le Parlement européen a approuvé l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG), conclu entre le Canada et l’Union européenne le 30 octobre 2016 après sept années de négociations. L’accord a été approuvé par 408 membres du Parlement européen et rejeté par 254, avec 33 abstentions. Comme l’indiquait ITN, cette approbation ouvre la […]

L’Union européenne et le Canada co-organisent des discussions sur un tribunal multilatéral des investissements

Les 13 et 14 décembre 2016, la Commission européenne et le gouvernement du Canada ont co-organisé des discussions préliminairessur la création d’un tribunal multilatéral des investissements. Les représentants gouvernementaux de plusieurs pays ont pris part à la réunion tenue à huis clos à Genève. Suite à la conclusion de l’AECG, les deux organisateurs se sont […]

L’AECG est signé ; le Canada et l’Union européenne « œuvreront rapidement » à la création d’un tribunal multilatéral des investissements

(English) On October 30, during the 16th European Union–Canada Summit held in Brussels, the two negotiating partners signed the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), after seven years of negotiations.

L’AECG sera un accord mixte ; la Commission espère pouvoir le signer en octobre

(English) On July 5, 2016, the European Commission proposed to the Council that the Canada–European Union CETA—agreed to in 2014 and re-concluded in February 2016—be signed as a “mixed agreement,” requiring signature and ratification by each of the EU member states.

L’AECG Canada-Union européenne a été de nouveau conclu en février pour inclure la proposition européenne de STI

Pour répondre aux demandes de l’UE, les représentants canadiens et européens ont rouvert les négociations sur l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) conclut en 2014, afin de reformuler la clause de règlement des différends investisseur-États (RDIE). De nouveau conclu le 29 février, l’AECG inclut à présent un tribunal permanent et un mécanisme d’appel, conformément à […]

Le RDIE contenu dans les accords commerciaux de l’Union européenne est-il légal au titre du droit européen ?

La légalité du règlement des différends entre investisseur et État (y compris sous la forme d’une coure international des investissements) dans les accords commerciaux de l’UE en vertu du droit de l’Union est une question litigieuse. Cet article détaille quatre objections juridiques soulevées par des universitaires et des experts juridiques et discute du potentiel de contestation de l’ISDS en vertu du droit de l’UE.

La Commission européenne demande au Canada la réouverture des négociations de l’AECG en vue de revoir le RDIE

D’après des informations de CBC News du 21 janvier 2016, les représentants de l’Union européenne auraient demandé au gouvernement canadien de revoir la clause RDIE contenue dans l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG).

Les juges et les procureurs publics allemands rejettent le système de tribunal des investissements au titre du PTCI/TTIP

Dans une déclaration émise début février 2016, l’Association allemande des juges (DRB sous son acronyme allemand) s’est fermement opposée à la proposition publiée par la Commission européenne le 16 septembre 2015 et visant à établir un tribunal d’investissement au titre du Partenariat transatlantique de commerce et d’investissement (PTCI/TTIP) en cours de négociation par l’Union européenne et les États-Unis.

L’ALE Union européenne-Vietnam inclut un tribunal permanent

Le 2 décembre 2015, l’Union européenne et le Vietnam ont signé un accord de libre-échange (ALE), mettant ainsi fin à trois années de négociation.

ICS

Toward a Code of Conduct for Investment Adjudicators: Can ethical standards salvage ISDS?

The idea of entrusting party-appointed arbitrators with powers to decide investor–state disputes through final and binding awards, inherited from commercial arbitration and traditionally accepted as appropriate, now causes discomfort among critics.

News  |  June 27, 2019

CJEU finds ICS in Canada–EU CETA to be in line with EU law

The CJEU has deemed that the ICS included in the Canada–EU CETA is consistent with EU law, issuing its final opinion on April 30, 2019.

News  |  April 23, 2019

European Economic and Social Committee recommends improvements, clarifications for MIC discussions

The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has weighed in on the European Commission’s recommendation for a European Council decision to launch negotiations on the proposed MIC, supporting discussions on ISDS reform while noting areas for improvement.

News  |  April 23, 2019

CJEU Advocate General finds ICS in line with EU law, final court ruling pending

CJEU Advocate General Yves Bot issued a non-binding opinion on January 29, 2019, deeming that the ICS included in the Canada–EU CETA is compatible with EU law. Bot assessed the ICS against the EU Treaty, the TFEU and the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights.

News  |  December 21, 2018

European Union signs trade and investment agreements with Singapore; EU–Japan EPA to enter into force on February 2019

On October 19, 2018, Singapore and the European Union signed political and trade agreements as well as the EU–Singapore Investment Protection Agreement (IPA).

News  |  July 30, 2018

Update on EU trade and investment negotiations: Japan, Vietnam, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico

On July 17, 2018, EC President Jean-Claude Juncker and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe signed the Japan–European Union (EU) Economic Partnership Agreement (JEEPA).

News  |  April 24, 2018

Council of the European Union adopts negotiating directives: EU Commission to negotiate a convention establishing a multilateral investment court

On March 20, 2018, the Council of the European Union adopted negotiating directives authorizing the European Commission to negotiate a convention establishing a multilateral court for the settlement of investment disputes.

News  |  December 21, 2017

EU–Japan EPA negotiations finalized without investment; EU–Mexico updated FTA nears completion

On December 8, 2017, European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe announced the finalization of the negotiations of the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) between the European Union and Japan.

News  |  December 21, 2017

EU continues efforts toward establishing multilateral investment court, despite sharp criticism

Beyond advancing its Investment Court System (ICS) proposal in bilateral negotiations, the European Union continues its efforts toward establishing a multilateral investment court (MIC).

News  |  December 21, 2017

NAFTA 2.0: Canada, Mexico and U.S. negotiation rounds move into the first quarter of 2018

The three parties to the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) held the third, fourth and fifth rounds of renegotiation (Ottawa, September 23–27; Arlington, October 11–17; and Mexico City, November 17–21). The next round of NAFTA renegotiations is scheduled for January 23–28, 2018 in Montreal.

News  |  December 21, 2017

Belgium requests CJEU for an opinion on the compatibility of ICS in CETA with EU law

On September 6, 2017, Belgium submitted to the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) a request for an opinion on the compatibility of the ICS with the European Treaties.

News  |  September 26, 2017

Canada–EU CETA to be provisionally applied as of September 21, 2017

After Canada’s ratification of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) on May 17, 2017, Canada and the European Commission agreed to start the provisional application of the agreement on September 21, 2017.

The Power to Conclude the New Generation of EU FTAs: AG Sharpston in Opinion 2/15

Can the European Union act alone in concluding agreements such as CETA and the EU–Singapore FTA? Or must EU member states also ratify them? ECJ Advocate General Sharpston discusses the allocation of powers in the field of investment under EU law.

News  |  March 13, 2017

CETA approved by EU Parliament; provisional application depends on ratification by Canada

On February 15, 2017, the European Parliament approved the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), signed by Canada and the European Union on October 30, 2016 after seven years of negotiations. The agreement was approved by 408 Members of the European Parliament and rejected by 254, with 33 abstentions. As reported in ITN, this approval paves the […]

News  |  March 13, 2017

European Union and Canada co-host discussions on a multilateral investment court

On December 13 and 14, 2016, the European Commission and the Canadian Government co-hosted exploratory discussions on establishing a multilateral investment court. Government representatives from several countries attended the closed-door meeting in Geneva. Upon concluding CETA, the two hosts had vowed to “work expeditiously” to create a permanent investment court, building on the ICS mechanism included in the agreement. The goal of […]

News  |  December 12, 2016

CETA signed; Canada and European Union to “work expeditiously” on creating a Multilateral Investment Court

On October 30, during the 16th European Union–Canada Summit held in Brussels, the two negotiating partners signed the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), after seven years of negotiations.

News  |  August 10, 2016

CETA to be concluded as a mixed agreement; Commission hopes for signing in October

On July 5, 2016, the European Commission proposed to the Council that the Canada–European Union CETA—agreed to in 2014 and re-concluded in February 2016—be signed as a “mixed agreement,” requiring signature and ratification by each of the EU member states.

News  |  May 16, 2016

Canada–European Union CETA re-concluded in February to incorporate EU ICS proposal

Responding to EU requests, Canadian and EU officials reopened negotiations of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) concluded in 2014 to reformulate the agreement’s investor–state dispute settlement (ISDS) clause. Re-concluded on February 29, the CETA now includes a standing tribunal and an appeals mechanism, in line with the EU ICS proposal, also included in the […]

Is ISDS in EU Trade Agreements Legal under EU Law?

Legality of investor–state dispute settlement (including in the form of an Investment Court System) in EU trade agreements under EU law is a contentious issue. This article details four legal objections raised by academics and legal experts, and discusses the potential for a legal challenge of ISDS under EU law.

News  |  February 29, 2016

Commission attempts to reopen CETA negotiations with Canada to revisit ISDS

EU officials are said to have requested the new Canadian federal government to revisit the ISDS clause in the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), according to reports by CBC News on January 21, 2016.

News  |  February 29, 2016

Germany’s judges and public prosecutors reject proposed investment court system in TTIP

In a statement issued in early February 2016, the German Association of Judges (known by its German acronym, DRB) firmly rejected the proposal published by the European Commission on September 16, 2015 to establish an Investment Court System (ICS) under the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) between the European Union and the United States.

News  |  February 29, 2016

Standing tribunal included in European Union–Vietnam FTA 

On December 2, 2015, the European Union and Vietnam signed a free trade agreement (FTA), closing three years of negotiations.